Automate Life
Rich

Automation starter

Hi all, 

I’m new to all this but I have a few echos throughout the house, a single LIFX and single philips hue bulb. I’m not sure which way to proceed now though as I was going to get Smarthings hub but then saw the Hubitat hub. Which is the best route to go? If anyone could give any advice on either device I’d appreciate it.

Thanks in advance 

Edited by Rich
Spelling

6 minutes ago, Rich said:

Hi all, 

I’m new to all this but I have a few echos throughout the house, a single LIFX and single philips hue bulb. I’m not sure which way to proceed now though as I was going to get Smarthings hub but then saw the Hubitat hub. Which is the best route to go? If anyone could give any advice on either device I’d appreciate it.

Thanks in advance 

Both have there pros and cons. I have a smartthings hub myself. If hubitat had been around with i bought my smartthings i might have bought the hubitat as i am a big coder and the new V3 rule engine they have is really good. All that being said, knowing what i know now, i'd probable go with smartthings as they have great community support and with webcore as the rule engine I'm a happy camper. 

Rich, If your running Hue and  Lifex I'll assume your using the hub in the Echo Plus or Show. You do have local control over the Hue now and can control any Zigbee device as well.

I have thought about a Smartthings hub myself. For example, my Echo hub works fine with the Samsung multi purpose sensor for contact and temperature but I can't use the tilt feature or get battery level.